One Year: Tohoku Earthquake and Tsunami

Japan, Life

535450110

Japan marked the one year anniversary of one of the most devastating natural disasters in recorded history.

At 14:46 on March 11, 2012, the nation came to a standstill as an one-minute moment of silence was observed. I also participated from the East Coast of Canada, at 00:46 of March 11, 2012 in marking this tragic anniversary.

As I have mentioned to some of my friends and twitter followers, my continued interest with the earthquake and tsunami roots from the fact that I experienced the Great Hanshin earthquake while I lived in Kaisai region. Though I was not in the hardest hit city of Kobe, the experience of Shindo 4 when I was merely 5 years old forever etches certain things into your mind.

In the aftermath, I spent three sleepless weeks as I followed every incident happening in my homeland. You have no idea how it feels to be so helpless as you watch your homeland face a crisis not unlike that of war.

I hope some of the people reading this will convey on the message from the Emperor, the Japanese people and supporters of Japan throughout the world, that:

I deeply thank the people of the world who gave tremendous support to the people of Japan in this time of need.

                                                                                                       – Emperor Akihito

Remember that life is precious but fragile. Enjoy the joys of living, because to borrow a famous quote, the day you wasted is a day that someone else wanted to live.

Leave a Reply

